Volxfest

In an atmosphere that playfully revitalizes traditional cultural assets such as folk dance, folk music or traditional garb, declaring them to be fields of experimentation, we will celebrate, dance and approach folk art as a space for freely developing creative expression. Highlights of the evening will include folk music ensemble “Aasgeiger”, regional Schuhplattler dancers, a hip hop and folk dance off, gregarious round tables, and the Quetschenteufel&Kuschelkrampus. Some artists and visitors present their traditional costumes, especially created for this evening. At the bonfire, which will be heated up by BandAdriatica, stories will be told about Jägerwirt and his innkeeper, about Dirndl dresses from the Jewish traditional garb manufacturer Wallach, and many more.

The Volxfest welcomes people of all backgrounds, all genders, all sexual (non-)orientations, in all forms of (non-)relationships and with all forms of bodily distinctions. Being different is normal!

Entrance fee

The interdisciplinary Volxfest team – led by Teresa Distelberger and Simon Mayer, and consisting of artists, dancers, musicians, and performers, along with local heritage clubs – invites you to the Volxfest at the Gasthaus Jägerwirt. In an atmosphere that playfully revitalizes traditional cultural assets such as folk dance, folk music or traditional garb, declaring them to be fields of experimentation, we will celebrate and dance, and approach folk art as a space for freely developing the creative expression of the people. On this participatory evening, which will blur the borders between participants and artists through a finely tuned choreography between concerted impulses, fluid improvisation, and authentic involvement, traditions and customs will be redefined.

Highlights of the evening will include folk music ensemble “Aasgeiger,” which will get us on the dance floor, regional Schuhplattler dancers, a hip hop and folk dance off, gregarious round tables, and the Quetschenteufel&Kuschelkrampus. From time to time, people may shout out for a double liter, adore or sing to it in unusual ways. Some artists and visitors present their traditional costumes, especially created for this evening. At the bonfire, which will be heated up by BandAdriatica, stories will be told about Jägerwirt and its innkeeper, about Dirndl dresses from the Jewish traditional garb manufacturer Wallach, and many more.

The artists from the Volxfest project spent several weeks in the region preparing by researching local customs, traditions, and rituals as well as getting in touch with people from the area. Volxfest is organizing various dance, traditional garb, and discursive workshops on the topics of tradition, present-day customs, and people’s connectedness to their homeland. Thus, the Volxfest will be a unique kind of folk dance ball and traditional garb festival, one that is homeland-connected yet cosmopolitan, down-to-earth yet experimental, and both traditional and up-to-date. Seeming contradictions will be brought to the dance floor at the Volxfest.

Preparatory Events

Round Tables

Three evenings when the public is invited to meet the Volxfest team, to chat, dance together, make music together, and warm up for the Volxfest on July 6th.  Each table will deal with a different theme.

3.5. 7 pm at Jägerwirt

17.5. 7 pm at Jägerwirt

15.6. 7 pm at Jägerwirt

Dance Hall

By Simon Mayer / Katharina Maier

The Dance Hall workshop will predominantly deal with the joys of dancing and singing together. We will practice and playfully reinvent existing folk dances, Schuhplattler dances, and songs. We’ll get to the bottom of the question of folk dance’s origins and will try to approach these origins through different experiments. Elements from folk dances and songs from other cultures as well as hip hop will also be incorporated. This afternoon is for anyone who enjoys folk dancing and singing or who would like to learn, as well as those who like to experiment, for all those who do not see themselves as dancers/singers or who don’t have anything to do with folk dancing and singing. Everyone is welcome.

18.5. 10 am – 5 pm Jägerwirt – registration: mairhofer@fdr.at

Traditional Garb Workshop Served with Root Soup

By Teresa Distelberger / Mario Sinnhofer aka Touched

In collaboration with the headdress and traditional garb groups of the Perg district. Traditional garb is often seen as the uniform-like clothing of a particular region. What does it mean to find an individualized version of one’s own traditional garb in which other roots or affiliations can become visible? How can a headdress look in which inner wealth beyond money or gold can be expressed? What is possible if seemingly contradictory styles are combined in an unusual but meticulous way? Traditional, urban, quirky, transgender, multiculturally mixed – anything is possible and will be tried out. This playful approach to one’s own understanding of homeland will be grounded in subtle, deep-rooted conversation techniques. It is thus not unlikely to find unexpected nutrients in your own home’s soil. Even if – or perhaps precisely when – the word homeland itself brings up a sense of dread.

15.6. 10 am – 6 am at Jägerwirt – registration: sophie@simonmayer.at

Artists

Simon Mayer and Teresa Distelberger are the artistic directors of the Volxfest project. They work on the topics of homeland and tradition in newly interpreted forms – be it dance, music, traditional garb, or cultivation of the art of conversation.

Simon Mayer is a performer/dancer, choreographer, and musician, raised in Andorf/OÖ, with roots in dancing that range from the national Staatsoper ballet to PARTS Brussels to domestic folk dance groups. www.simonmayer.at

Teresa Distelberger is a filmmaker, moderator, and artist, raised in Herzogenburg/NÖ. She researches on collective trauma, loves paradoxical Dirndls, and creates spaces for encounters. www.artofco.com

 

Credits

Artistic directors: Simon Mayer, Teresa Distelberger

Performance, research, interaction with the Audience and creative support:

Mario Sinnhofer aka Touched, Manuel Wagner, Patric Redl, Katharina Frieda Meier, Agnes Distelberger, Farah Deen, Valentin Alfery, Annegret Schalke, Robert Steijn, Sophie Rastl, Simon Mayer, Teresa Distelberger

Guest-artists and groups: Schuachplattler Menscha Ried, Ledarsoinbuam Ried, Goldhauben- und Trachtengruppen des Bezirkes Perg, Claudio Prima

Dramaturgic consultation: Robert Steijn

Immersive stage-design: Mario Sinnhofer aka Touched, Simon Mayer

Light: Annegret Schalke

Audio: Lukas Froschauer

Music/Bands: Asgeiger, Volxfest Band, Banda Adriatica

Production: Kopf hoch/Sophie Rastl & Martina Knoll, Hiros

Workshopteam: Mario Sinnhofer aka Touched, Katharina Frieda Meier, Agnes Distelberger, Simon Mayer, Teresa Distelberger

A Co-Production of Kopf hoch & Festival der Regionen. Supported by the Cultural Department of the City Vienna, the Federal Chancellery of Austria and the Flemish Government.

Thanks to: Impulstanz Festival, Forschungsfeld Heimatgefühle, Arbeitsplatz Wien, Jägerwirt.

Photos: Sophie Rastl

 

 

 

Reservierung

  • Bitte trage deine Telefonnummer ein: für den Fall, dass es kurzfristige Änderungen gibt melden wir uns bei dir!
  • Please enter a number from 1 to 20.

Termine

  • Sat, 06.07 | 19:00 - 00:00

    Volxfest

    Jägerwirt Au an der Donau Oberer Markt 24
    4332 Au an der Donau

VOLXFEST

In einer Atmosphäre, die traditionelles Kulturgut wie Volkstanz, Volksmusik und Trachten spielerisch wiederbelebt und zum Experimentierfeld erklärt, wird gemeinsam gefeiert, getanzt und Volkskunst als Ort der freien Entfaltung und als kreativer Ausdruck verstanden. Höhepunkte des Abends sind das Volksmusikensemble „Aasgeiger“, Schuhplattler_innen der Region, ein Hip Hop- und Volkstanzbattle, gesellig-gspürige Stammtischgespräche sowie der Quetschenteufel&Kuschelkrampus. Speziell für diesen Abend kreierte Trachten und Goldhauben werden elegant auf einem Catwalk präsentiert. Beim Lagerfeuer, das von BandAdriatica angeheizt wird, werden Geschichten rund um den Jägerwirt und seine Wirtin, um die Dirndl aus dem jüdischen Trachtenhaus Wallach und vieles mehr erzählt. Das Volxfest begrüßt Menschen jeder Herkunft, jeden Geschlechts, jeglicher sexueller (Nicht-)Orientierung, in jeglicher (Nicht-)Beziehungsform lebend und mit jeder Form von körperlicher Besonderheit. Es ist normal, verschieden zu sein!

Das interdisziplinäre Volxfestteam, bestehend aus Künstler_innen, Tänzer_innen, Musiker_innen und Performer_innen laden unter der Leitung von Teresa Distelberger und Simon Mayer gemeinsam mit lokalen Brauchtumsgruppen zum „Volxfest“ ins Gasthaus Jägerwirt. In einer Atmosphäre, die traditionelles Kulturgut wie Volkstanz, Volksmusik und Trachten spielerisch wiederbelebt und mit Wertschätzung zum Experimentierfeld erklärt, wird gemeinsam gefeiert, getanzt und die Volkskunst als Symbol der freien Entfaltung und als kreativer Ausdruck des Volkes verstanden. Im Rahmen dieses partizipativen Abends, der in einer fein abgestimmten Choreografie zwischen gezielten Impulsen, flüssiger Improvisation und authentischem Dabei-Sein die Grenzen zwischen Teilnehmenden und KünstlerInnen verschwimmen lassen, wird Tradition und Brauchtum neu definiert.

Höhepunkte des Abends sind das Volksmusikensemble „Aasgeiger“, das zum Tanz aufspielen wird, Schuhplattler_innen der Region, ein Hip Hop- und Volkstanzbattle, gesellig-gspürige Stammtischgespräche sowie der Quetschenteufel&Kuschelkrampus. Von Zeit zu Zeit wird ein Doppelliter auf ungewöhnliche Weise angeschrien, angebetet oder angesungen und speziell für diesen Abend kreierte Trachten und Goldhauben werden elegant auf einem Catwalk präsentiert. Beim Lagerfeuer, das von BandAdriatica angeheizt wird, werden Geschichten rund um den Jägerwirt und seine Wirtin, rund um die Dirndl aus dem jüdischen Trachtenhaus Wallach und vieles mehr erzählt.

Die Künstler_innen des Projekts „Volxfest“ verbringen zur Vorbereitung mehrere Wochen in der Region, um lokale Bräuche, Traditionen und Rituale zu erforschen und mit den Menschen vor Ort in Kontakt zu kommen. Das Volxfest organisiert verschiedene Tanz-, Trachten- und Gesprächs-Workshops zu den Themen Tradition, Brauchtum heute und Heimatverbundenheit für die Bevölkerung. Daraus entsteht das Volxfest als ein Volkstanzball und Trachtenfest der besonderen Art, das heimatverbunden und weltoffen, bodenständig und experimentell sowie Tradition und Update ist. Scheinbare Widersprüche werden am Volxfest zum Tanz geladen.

Veranstaltungen im Vorfeld:

Stammtische

Drei Abende, an denen das Publikum eingeladen ist, das Volxfest-Team kennenzulernen, zu plaudern, gemeinsam zu tanzen, zu musizieren und sich auf das Volxfest am 6. Juli gemeinsam einzustimmen. Jeder Stammtisch wird um ein spezielles Thema kreisen.

3.5. 19:00 Uhr im Jägerwirt

17.5. 19:00 Uhr im Jägerwirt

15.6. 19:00 Uhr im Jägerwirt

Tanzboden

Leitung: Simon Mayer / Katharina Maier

Beim Tanzboden-Workshop wird es vorwiegend um die Freude am gemeinsamen Tanzen und Singen gehen. Wir werden existierende Volkstänze, Schuhplattler und Lieder lernen, üben und spielerisch neue erfinden. Wir gehen der Frage auf den Grund, wo denn der Volkstanz seinen Ursprung hat, und versuchen, diesem Ursprung mit verschiedenen Experimenten näher zu kommen. Elemente aus Volkstänzen und Liedern anderer Kulturen und aus dem Hip Hop fließen ebenfalls ein. Dieser Nachmittag ist für all diejenigen, die gerne Volkstanzen, singen oder es lernen wollen, und genauso für alle, die gerne experimentieren, für alle die sich als Nicht-Tänzer_innen/Sänger_innen definieren oder nichts mit Volkstanz und Singen am Hut haben. Jede_r ist willkommen.

18.5. 10:00-17:00 Uhr im Jägerwirt – Anmeldung: mairhofer@fdr.at

Trachten-Werkstatt mit Wurzelsuppe

Leitung: Teresa Distelberger / Mario Sinnhofer aka Touched

In Kooperation mit den Goldhauben- und Trachtengruppen des Bezirkes Perg

Trachten werden oft als uniformhafte Kleidung einer bestimmten Region gesehen. Was aber bedeutet es, eine individuelle Version einer eigenen Tracht zu finden, in der auch andere Wurzeln und Zugehörigkeiten sichtbar werden? Wie könnte eine Goldhaube aussehen, die inneren Reichtum jenseits von Geld & Gold ausdrückt? Was ist möglich, wenn scheinbar gegensätzliche Stile ungewohnt, aber mit feinem Gespür kombiniert werden? Trachtig-traditionell, urban, schräg, transgender, multikulturell gemischt – alles ist möglich und wird gleich ausprobiert. Diese spielerische Annäherung an den eigenen Heimatbegriff wird hinterlegt mit subtilen, tief wirkenden Gesprächstechniken. Unvermutete Nährstoffe in der eigenen Heimaterde zu finden ist dabei gar nicht unwahrscheinlich. Selbst – oder vielleicht sogar genau dann – wenn einem beim Wort “Heimat” an sich das Grausen kommt.

15.6. 10:00 – 18:00 Uhr im Jägerwirt – Anmeldung: sophie@simonmayer.at

Künstler_innen

Simon Mayer und Teresa Distelberger sind die künstlerische Leitung des Projekts „Volxfest“. Sie beschäftigen sich beide mit Heimat und Tradition in neuinterpretierten Formen – sei es als Tanz, Musik, Trachten oder gepflegte Gesprächskultur.

Simon Mayer ist Performer/Tänzer, Choreograph und Musiker, aufgewachsen in Andorf/OÖ mit tänzerischen Wurzeln von Staatsopernballett über PARTS Brüssel bis zur heimischen Volkstanzgruppe. www.simonmayer.at

Teresa Distelberger ist Filmemacherin, Moderatorin und Künstlerin, aufgewachsen in Herzogenburg/NÖ. Sie erforscht kollektive Traumata, liebt paradoxe Dirndl und gestaltet Begegnungsräume. www.artofco.com

Foto: Franzi Kreis

 

Termine

  • Sa, 06.07 | 19:00 - 00:00

    VOLXFEST

    Jägerwirt Au an der Donau Oberer Markt 24
    4332 Au an der Donau