FREIgang

somom – song of myself or (m)other is an annual inventory of the common existences of Katrin and Felicitas Wölger as mother and daughter and as women artists. somom 6 / FREIgang is about otherness, alterity and the self-assertion of a society. Katrin and Felicitas Wölger will travel all across the Perg-Strudengau region by bus, by train, by walk, or by hitchhiking in order to relate to people in the most different of ways. Thereby, normal, strange, and other incidents will be packed into a performance and presented in the form of a multimedia travelogue.

(m)other invites people in the region to tread along with them, to approach them, to meddle, and to observe them. They look forward to spontaneous invitations and are happy to be photographed.

Have you seen (m)other in the region? Take photos of the two of them and send the photos to:

office@katrinwoelger.com

Conception, organization: Katrin Wölger

Master of Fashion: Felicitas Wölger

Execution & performance: (m)other: Felicitas & Katrin Wölger

Entrance fee

somom (song of myself or (m)other) is about otherness as distinction or as abasement, about alterity and the self-assertion of a society. It is about the safe harboring of the individual within a collective, about questions of equal rights for people with impairments or other visible differences and about our interactions with one another. With somom, Katrin and Felicitas Wölger show the annual status quo of their common existence as mother and daughter and as women artists.

Freigang is the sixth installment of somom and will take place within the Festival of the Regions. Katrin and Felicitas Wölger will travel throughout the Perg-Strudengau region by bus, by train, by walk or by hitchhiking to collect encounters, stories, incidents, objects, and sounds. They will look for things. Research areas, marvel and roam, research and document. Talk to people, see and be seen. In time, across time, with time. Coming, degenerating, accommodating, overcoming. Normal, strange, and other will be packed into a performance and presented in the form of a multimedia travelogue.

somom links to the histories of the vagabonds and roamers, who are viewed, on the one hand, as destitute beggars and as idlers, on the other: depending on the time and economic conditions under which they traveled, whether jobseekers in the1930s or hippies in the 1970s.

 

Walt Whitman: “Song of Myself” :

I celebrate myself, and sing myself,

And what I assume you shall assume,

For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.

I loafe and invite my soul,

I lean and loafe at my ease observing a spear of summer grass.

Walt Whitman: Leaves of Grass

Artists

(m)other: Katrin Wölger works with performance, video, photography, installation, and object-based art. Her daughter Felicitas works with painting, drawing, and as a performer.

Photo: Katrin Wölger

Reservierung

  • Please insert your phone number below: in case of last-minute changes, we will contact you!
  • Please enter a number from 1 to 20.

Termine

  • Fri, 05.07 | 22:00 - 23:00

    Multimedia Travelogue

    Festivalzentrum Kriegergut Zeitling 16
    4320

FREIgang

somom – song of myself or (m)other ist eine jährliche Bestandsaufnahme des gemeinsamen Daseins von Katrin und Felicitas Wölger als Mutter und Tochter und als Künstlerinnen. somom 6 / FREIgang dreht sich um Anderssein, um Alterität und das Sich-Behaupten in der Gesellschaft. Katrin und Felicitas Wölger werden kreuz und quer per Bus, Zug, zu Fuß oder per Autostopp durch die Region Perg-Strudengau reisen und mit den Menschen auf unterschiedlichste Weise in Beziehung treten. Dabei wird Normales, Seltsames und Anderes zu einer Performance verdichtet und in Form eines multimedialen Reisevortrags präsentiert.
(m)other laden Menschen in der Region ein, mit ihnen in Beziehung zu treten und auf sie zuzugehen, sich einzumischen und/oder zu beobachten.
Sie freuen sich über spontane Einladungen und sie freuen sich, wenn sie fotografiert werden.
Haben Sie (m)other in der Region gesehen? Bitte fotografieren Sie die beiden und senden Sie Fotos an: office@katrinwoelger.com

Konzept, Organisation: Katrin Wölger
Master of Fashion: Felicitas Wölger
Durchführung & Performance: (m)other: Felicitas & Katrin Wölger

somom (song of myself or (m)other) dreht sich um Anderssein als Auszeichnung oder als Abwertung, um Alterität und das Sich-Behaupten in der Gesellschaft. Es geht um die Schutzbedürftigkeit des Individuums im Kollektiv, um Fragen nach gleichen Rechten für Menschen mit Beeinträchtigung oder anderen scheinbaren Unterschiedsmerkmalen und um den Umgang miteinander. Mit somom zeigen Felicitas und Katrin Wölger einmal pro Jahr einen status quo ihres gemeinsamen Daseins als Mutter und Tochter und als Künstlerinnen.

Freigang ist die sechste Fortsetzung von somom und findet im Rahmen des Festivals der Regionen statt. Katrin und Felicitas Wölger werden kreuz und quer per Bus, Zug, zu Fuß oder per Autostopp durch die Region Perg-Strudengau reisen und Begegnungen, Geschichten, Ereignisse, Gegenstände und Geräusche sammeln. Sie werden Sachen suchen. Gegenden erforschen, staunen und streunen, forschen und dokumentieren. Mit Menschen sprechen, sehen und gesehen werden. In der Zeit, über die Zeit, mit der Zeit. Kommen, verkommen, unterkommen, überkommen. Normales, Seltsames und Anderes wird zu einer Performance verdichtet und in Form eines multimedialen Reisevortrags präsentiert.

somom knüpft an die Historie der Landstreicher_innen und Herumtreiber_innen an, die einerseits als bettelnde Notleidende, andererseits als freie Müßiggänger_innen gesehen wurden: je nachdem, zu welcher Zeit und unter welchen ökonomischen Voraussetzungen sie unterwegs waren, ob als Arbeitssuchende in den 1930er Jahren oder als Hippies in den 1970ern.

Walt Whitman: „song of myself“ :
Ich feiere mich selbst und singe mich selbst,
Und was ich mir anmaße, das sollt ihr euch anmaßen,
Denn jedes Atom, das mir gehört, gehört auch euch!

Ich bin Müßiggänger und lade meine Seele zu Gaste,
Ich lehne mich an oder schweife umher nach meinem Behagen,
und betrachte einen Halm des Sommergrases…
Whitman, Walt: Grashalme. Leipzig 1904, S. 39-104.

Künstlerinnen

(m)other: Katrin Wölger arbeitet im Bereich Performance, Video, Foto, Installation und Objekt. Ihre Tochter Felicitas arbeitet im Bereich Malerei und Zeichnung und als Performerin.

Foto: Katrin Wölger

Termine

  • Fr, 05.07 | 22:00 - 23:00

    Multimedialer Reisevortrag

    Festivalzentrum Kriegergut Zeitling 16
    4320